One Man’s Trash Is Another Man’s Treasure

trash
traSH/

noun

NORTH AMERICAN

discarded matter; refuse.

 

Back end story: I was talking to someone about the importance of content on social media when introducing a new company to your community, and as a joke, I said “You can take pictures of trash and add a Geo-tag, and it will be useful content.” So I decided to put my lens where my mouth went. (I’ve been full of idioms lately).

This advise also applies to my fellow photographers: you can take pictures of anything, as long as you just shoot. If you’re one to attach a story to everything, there is always a story behind your image. The reason why you went for the shot is your story.

Why is it important to always shoot, as a photographer? For beginners, it’s practice. You’ll learn how to define what subjects interest you the most, and practice your skill at the same time. You’ll learn how to develop new techniques and what works best for you. And best of all, your photos will be the journal of your progress. Trust me, you’re going to want to document your progress; so that as you get better, you’ll look back and appreciate where you started.

Front Story: It took me no effort what so ever to find miscellaneous trash laying on the ground in random places. I was on my way to a friend’s house, and I nonchalantly stopped a couple of times to take these images.

I can look at the positive side, and be happy that it had become so easy to find my subject. To say the least, it is disheartening, and now I feel a bit trashy. In two different cities, that are miles away from each other. Makes you think a little, doesn’t it?

“To play safe, I prefer to accept only one type of power: the power of art over trash, the triumph of magic over the brute.”

– Vladimir Nabokov

Do you like taking pictures of random objects? If so, what are they? Comment below – as always, I would love to see what you create. Please leave a comment with the link where I can follow your work.

Click on the image to view full size

5 thoughts on “One Man’s Trash Is Another Man’s Treasure

  1. These images have a lot of power. Just think about how dramatic the images of “everyday trash” are to people who don’t see that world. It makes a statement. And to the ones who see that all of the time, they can take comfort in other’s appreciating the grit, and finding beauty in it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

