Because Dads Need Some Love Too

Every year I show my respect for all mothers who have done such an awesome job being wonder women. I usually skip to the grads, and congratulate them on all of their hard work and efforts. Come July, I realize I missed a date that is equally important: Father’s Day!

doh

Well, this year, I made sure that changed. I have dealt with my share of fathers when it comes to portraits. The one thing they all have in common is that no matter how stoic they appear to be on the surface, or how cool they want to look in public, they are the cheesiest, sweetest goofballs, who melt at the thought of their children’s happiness. If that’s not worth capturing with your lens, I don’t know what is.
giphy (4)

Although it’s less common to think about dad (vs. remembering mom) for portraits, it’s always a good idea to capture the great moments with our dear fathers. I’m sure you’ll both enjoy taking a look at them in the future. Maybe both of you can even laugh at your future selves looking back and laughing at your present selves, remembering how good it is and was to laugh with your dad.

So this Father’s Day, grab your camera and make sure to capture dad’s best smile (or half smiling grin – which also makes great portraits). Don’t forget to show him extra love for being so awesome.

Cheers to you ol’ man – thank you for being so great!

ENDD_large

“My father didn’t tell me how to live; he lived, and let me watch him do it” – Clarence Budington Kelland

As always, I would love to see what you create. Please leave a comment with the link where I can follow your work.

 Click on the image to view full size

Leave a Reply

