Mamá: Happy Mother’s Day!

madre

mä dray

feminine noun

(relative) mother
DIA-MADRE-MEXICO (1)
Today, Latin America celebrates a very special person: Mamá!
And because we also celebrate Mother’s Day this Sunday in the US, I thought I would dedicate this blog to the most important women in all of our lives.
I often find myself telling my clients how every woman should have their portraits taken, especially mom. There’s always a warm and tender feeling when you find an old picture or portrait of mom – and let’s be honest, mom’s make the best models. Am I right?
b5c6abd7cd0d1f2a8cafaa2be978ec25
But seriously,  take some time off from all your photo projects, and take some time to capture that wonderful woman in your life. Glam her up, and make her feel like the most beautiful woman on Earth. Because she really is beautiful and wonderful.
Capture her in her favorite environment. Take a candid picture of her while she smiles, or of her showing that oh-so-memorable raw emotion that defines her. If that raw emotion is her not smiling, capture that. As long as you capture her in her true nature, you’ll capture her true beauty.
You’re not simply enjoying this moment. You are capturing the matriarchal legacy in your family history. You never know what generation you’re capturing the essence of her for.
IMG_9767
This is my mother. We admire the strength, wisdom, and patient nurturing that our mothers show us. Personally, I also admire the consistent capability my mother has learned how to be a better human – te amo belleza de mujer!

“All that I am or ever hope to be, I owe to my angel mother.”

— ABRAHAM LINCOLN

 

As always, I would love to see what you create. Please leave a comment with the link where I can follow your work.

 Click on the image to view full size

Leave a Reply

