Depth of Field

depth of field
noun
the distance between the nearest and the furthest objects that give an image judged to be in focus in a camera.
 IMG_4846

Depth of Field is best captured (but not always required) with a wide lens by factoring three factors: aperture (f-stop), distance from the subject to the camera, and focal length of the lens on your camera.

Let’s start with aperture. Remember, aperture (f-stop) refers to the access given to light by the lens to the camera sensors. So, the lower your f-number, the smaller your depth of field and vice versa. (See chart below.)

apertures

When it comes to distance, the closer your subject is to the camera, the shallower your depth of field becomes. Therefor, moving further away from your subject will deepen your dept of field.

 

When considering your focal length, try to keep it short for best results;  the longer you set your focal length, the more shallow the depth of field will be.
focal point

 

 

 

 

 Depth of field can be used in any style of photography; from landscapes to head shot portraits, macro photography to bokeh(the aesthetic quality of the blur produced in the out-of-focus parts of an image produced by a lens). Keep these three factors in mind, and let your intuition guide you.

“Great photography is about depth of feeling, not depth of field”

– Peter Adams

 

Click on the image to view full size

As always, I’d love to see what you create. Please leave a comment with the link where I can follow your work.

4 thoughts on “Depth of Field

  1. Hi! I’ve been following your posts since weeks ago. Good works and very usefull feeds! 😊
    Tbh, I’m a newbie in photography. I’m still seeking for my first dslr. I like capturing landscape, and still-life sometimes. Do you have any suggestion about what dslr should I own?
    Waiting for your answer. Thank you, and have a good day!😊

    Like

    1. Hello Ismidita! What a pleasure! So glad you’re enjoying the articles! 😊

      Choosing your first dslr is very exciting! And a bit nervous at the same time. I would recommend either the Canon Rebel T5i or Nikon D3400. Depending on what you are looking for. I would suggest to Google Canon Rebel T5i vs Nikon D3400, and read the specs side by side so you can determine which one suits you better.

      Please let me know which one you end up with – and I would LOVE to see your images! Let me know where I can follow your work. I love to support new photographers! Best of luck, and I’m excited to see your work!

      Have an awesome one!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aaa yeah! Thankyousomuch for your advice. Just Google it, and my decision is going to the nikon one.😊
        It’s better on the battery-life, and anti-aliasing (and the price too! Lol).
        Think that I should make a little review of this on my blog ASAP after owning this “new fella” hehee…
        Once again, thank you for your advice! I’d like to buy it next month.😊😊

        Like

Leave a Reply

