Eye of the Beholder

In this week alone, I spoke to three different people who just started their journey in photography. All three asked the same question: “What do you shoot with? What lighting equipment do you use?”. I laughed underneath my breath each time and said “Nothing fancy at all”. So, I thought that maybe this week I can detour a bit from giving the “how-to’s”, and focus a bit on those two questions.

My very trusty and loving Canon Rebel T3i is all I need. I have my faithful lenses, and my two humble soft boxes that I’m very happy with.  Yes, I am due for an upgrade (…soon), but I shoot with confidence and I deliver the images my clients ask  for – and I receive very positive feed back. Which, in turn, makes me a very happy photographer.

You see, it’s not the camera that makes the photographer, it’s the skill. I know this line has become much of a cliche, but it is absolutely true. Anyone can point and shoot a camera – or camera-phone nowadays. To have that keen eye, now that’s a skill that can only come from intuition, and practice. Even if your taking a photo on your phone (Visit my VSCO profile to view images taken with my camera phone) Remember what I said: Just Shoot -Become a Spontaneous Photographer blog? Well, those same ideas apply to this as well.

Don’t get me wrong, I love buying and playing with new equipment. But, they are only add-on’s to enhance a visual that I already have in mind to create.

 

“A lot of photographers think that if they buy a better camera they’ll be able to take better photographs. A better camera won’t do a thing for you if you don’t have anything in your head or in your heart.”

-Arnold Newman

(click here to view some of Arnold Newman’s beautiful images)

Click on the image to view full size – all images in this blog were either taken with a Nikon Cool Pix (circa 2008), or a camera phone

As always, I’d love to see what you create. Please leave a comment with the link where I can follow your work…especially if you have work created with minimal photography equipment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

