Just Shoot -Become a Spontaneous Photographer

spon·ta·ne·ous

spänˈtānēəs/

adjective

Performed or occurring as a result of a sudden inner impulse or inclination and without premeditation or external stimulus.

 IMG_9954

What is a spontaneous photographer? Besides being an impulsive shooter (most great photographers shoot on impulse, and create beautiful images), it also means to improvise when needed. Thinking on your feet, and do not second guess your self when wanting to shoot – with anything! 

Sadly, I have missed many opportunities for great shots. As a photographer, I find beauty in every raw moment, and I have lost the chance to shoot that moment because I second guess my self. As a result, I’ve had to teach myself to become a spontaneous photographer.

 This week, I want to share with you what I did to become a spontaneous photographer (I still use this list everyday):

Feels like the first time We all had that gah gah moment with photography; the “in love” stage; the “I’ll do anything for you, and I don’t care what people think” stage. Remember? Well, go back to that moment when you felt that way and fall in love with photography again.  Don’t just remember though. You have to feel it, deep in your gut. Then, take your camera, and shoot what so ever catches your eye.

Just the two of us When you do go out and shoot, don’t take extra equipment. Just take one lens. Again, let’s go back to when you fell in love with photography. I personally didn’t have anything but one lens and body. No fancy lights, or external flash. No extra lenses. Just my good ol’ trusty camera body and lens. I would focus more on what I wanted to shoot vs. thinking what lens would work better to take that shot with. It also helps you be more creative.

Don’t you forget about me Take your camera everywhere. Always. Opportunities are everywhere, and as a photographer you have the tendency to always think “this would make a great shot”. What better than to be prepared to take that shot?

 IMG_9603

In your eyes Every photographer sees things differently. Don’t be afraid or intimidated to go out there and shoot random object, places, or people. Chances are you’ll capture a great shot, and you’ll be able to show others your personal vision.

Although it may be an easy task for some, being (or becoming) a spontaneous photographer doesn’t come easy. But if you’re up for the task, practice every day, by photographing what your gut inspires you to capture, without fear or intimidation.

As always, I would love to see what you create. Please leave a comment with the link where I can follow your work.

 Click on the image to view full size

“An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail.” – Edwin Land

4 thoughts on “Just Shoot -Become a Spontaneous Photographer

Leave a Reply

