Message Through Photography

mes·sage
ˈmesij/
noun
 a verbal, written, or recorded communication sent to or left for a recipient who cannot be contacted directly.
 xmasblg_wm004
One of the questions you will hear a lot in photography is: “What is the message behind the image?” Every image should convey a story, right? Absolutely.
When it comes to my personal projects, it’s easy for me to tell the model and make up artist the story I want to bring to life. When it comes to a client asking me to create an image, it’s not so simple. I learned that there must be clear communication between client and photographer. And, as a photographer, I should ask as many questions as needed, in order to establish a clear communication.
I created a questionnaire that I send to my clients that I would like to share with you – please feel free to copy and tweak accordingly to your and your customer’s need.
Checklist:
  • Photo Session Date:
  • Photo Session Time/Duration:
  • Photo Session Location: (Note to photographer: it is a good idea to check out the location before the date of the shoot. This way you’ll know what the restrictions you may bump into)
  • What is the theme for this portrait session?
  • What message would you like to convey?
  • How many models would you like to use?
  • Male or female preference?
  • Is there a specific look you would like the models to have?
  • What are the important features you would like to include in the photos?
  • What do you consider unnecessary, and would like to avoid?
  • Will there be wardrobe included? Would you like me to provide the wardrobe?
  • Would you like me to recommend a makeup artist?
  • Can/will the makeup artist be on location?
  • Do you have reference pictures you would like me to review?

Please note, these are just the basic questions I ask when sitting down with a client. Remember to always have your agreements in writing, and never forget to have your models sign a model agreement/waiver.

Hope these tips were helpful.

 

Here are a few images from my photo shoot for a fashion show Heart 4 America  – images were to translate the spirit of giving through fashion. The fashion show brought awareness to a great charity called Adopt-A-Family.

Click on the image to view full size

 

Have a GREAT holiday weekend everyone!

Cheers!

Dani

 

Leave a Reply

